Titanic Dreams

The Titanic is a ship that the entire world is aware of. It sunk on April 14th, 1912, 104 years ago. The Titanic has captured my imagination since I was five years old, and funnily enough, after my daughter watched the 1997 film starring Leonardo Di Caprio and Kate Winslet, she is captivated by the same ship that has mesmerised me for almost three decades.

She has indicated that she wishes to write about the Titanic in the near future, so I look forward to reading her post about it on https://therobinandrose.wordpress.com/. For me the enthusiasm she shows for the Titanic is contagious and I would love to be able to fulfil my life long dream to go down to the wreck of Titanic, though considering it would cost over a hundred thousand pounds, it doesn’t feel like I will ever have the pleasure of doing so.

This information however, is something that I will not pass along to my daughter. I do not wish to crush her dreams, no matter how improbable it may be. When I was young, I was often told that my dreams would either never come true, or that I dreamt too big, this made me lose hope and I felt that there was no point in dreaming, since they would never come true.

I have often attributed this to the reason as to why my career, and my life, has been so listless. As I child I wished to be a writer or a poet, I was told I wasn’t good enough (ironically the same people that said that, now rant and rave about my writing, funny how life works at times). At one point I also wished to be a ship builder, to follow in my Grandfather’s footsteps, and to be able to understand just how ships like the Titanic worked and entered from someone’s imagination, and morphed into reality.

It is hard to dream, to get excited, to aim for something, when at the starting point of any dream or ambition, you are repeatedly told that it will be a fruitless endeavour, and that you lack the talent and ability, and should settle for a realistic ambition, for a mundane role in life.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not deeming a mundane life beneath me, or am I considering any job beneath me. An honest day’s work is an honest day’s pay in my opinion, and it is always good to respect the job that pays your bills. A Child’s dreams are often what inspires people to reach the top of their very profession. Look at the example of actors and footballers, these people, dreamed of becoming footballers and actors since early childhood, and the encouragement and support of their parents, as well as the child’s talent and dedication, made it happen.

This is why I refuse to pour water on the flames of my daughter’s dreams, instead I wish them to run wild. If this is truly what she wants, she will either work hard and study to become someone who investigates the Titanic, or a career that pays high enough to ensure that her trip to Titanic becomes a reality.

Either way, her dreams will help her shape her career in the future, and her ability to be able to achieve them. I honestly hope and pray that she achieves them. Parents, remember as a child you once had dreams and aspirations as well, some realistic, some not, do not dampen the dreams of your children, because if someone had dampened yours, you would not be what you are today.

Until next time,
The Raven

 

Leave a Reply

