Work Begins

Work has indeed begun upon the Titanic themed novel. I’ve written only a small introduction so far. The point of the introduction has been to see whether I can capture the essence of what I hope to convey. In all honesty, I’m not exactly thrilled by what I’ve written in that introduction, but I do accept that it is very early days and that the concept of what my daughter and I intend to write about is a solid one.

The first and next step is to do a lot of research. Hopefully I shall be visiting a couple of titanic exhibitions to be able to gleam as much information as I can, both written and photographic. After that, the next step will be to look into national and international archives for a as detailed as possible list of the passengers, the voyage and everything else that happened before and after the Titanic sunk.

Following all this information, I will need to research the life of what my protagonists would have been like, amongst other things. The idea of this is to have a novel being as historically accurate as possible.

I hope to take as much inspiration as I can from the stories of the survivors, it is really important to me for this book to not only be as historically accurate as can be, but that it also fully takes in the enormity of what happened, and the tragedy that it was, that it captures the emotion that so many people went through on that fateful night. Plenty of work again, but honestly, I cannot wait. It will be a wonderful experience for both myself and my daughter. Exciting times lie ahead…

Until next time,
The Raven

Leave a Reply

