The Raven’s Causes: Living With Autism

Ever since I started this blog, I have been spoken about Autism and about being a parent of a Autistic child. While I have been able to provide some insight into what it is like, the perspective that I have always struggled to convey, is that of someone who has autism himself. However today changes all that. Today’s post is a very special post, my six year old son, who I have often written about here, has asked to be able to write on what it is like to have Autism, from his perspective, and I am more than happy to oblige. I hope you all will be able to enjoy the insight into Autism, from the eyes of a six year old boy. Until next time,

The Raven.

Living with Autism

I have autism, and I don’t know what it’s like really, I know what I like and don’t like, I like Lego Star Wars, Thomas the Tank Engine, toy trains and my light with lots of different colours on it. I don’t like playing with barbies, I hate loud noises, and I find it really hard to sleep.

I find it really hard to tell people what I am feeling, and I get really angry if I can’t say what I am feeling because I don’t know how to say it. When I am playing with my toys, I really like making shapes with them, I like playing games a certain way, and when someone changes the game, I get really angry.

I have to chew my special toy to be able to calm down when I am angry. Calming down is really hard for me. I can’t think and all I really feel is being very angry and sometimes need to hit things, which I can’t stop doing, It just happens. I really like getting cuddles from everyone in my family as they really calm me down. I have friends, but it is not easy to talk to people, when I meet someone for the first time, I get a little bit shy and it is not easy to talk to them.

Thank you for reading,
The Superboy

Leave a Reply

